Can you work at 15 in Alaska?
Youth 14/15 Years of Age May Work:
Only between the hours of 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. (under State law)** No more than six days per week. A total of nine hours of school and work combined in one day. A total of 23 hours per week outside of school hours when school is in session (except for domestic work and babysitting).
How old do you have to be to work in Alaska?
Teens in Alaska who are interested in pursuing paid employment can do so by the age of 14; in Alaska, a minor can begin to work at the age of 14 with an approved work permit. An approved work permit is required to be on file at the Alaska Department of Labor for all minors under the age of 17.
How do you get a work permit in Alaska?
Foreign nationals can work in Alaska as long as they obtain proper authority to work legally. You will need to obtain a United States Work Visa before you can work in Alaska. Due to the complexities of applying for and managing H type visas, many Alaska employers do not hire foreign nationals under this program.
Can 13 year olds work in Alaska?
Alaska Child Labor Laws
All employed minors aged 14 to 16 must have an official work permit, though 17 year olds only need this authorization if their employer has a license to serve alcohol. Work permits issued from the Alaska Wage & Hour Administration allow children under 14 to work in the entertainment industry.
Where can you work at 14 Alaska?
ALASKA YOUTH UNDER THE AGE OF 14 MAY WORK ONLY IN THE FOLLOWING OCCUPATIONS:
- Newspaper sales and delivery.
- Baby-sitting, handiwork and domestic employment in or about private homes.
- The entertainment industry, with an approved work permit from the Alaska Wage and Hour Administration.
How much is the minimum wage in Alaska?
What is the minimum wage in Alaska? Alaska is one of 29 states with a minimum wage above the federal minimum wage of $7.25. The minimum wage in Alaska was $10.19 throughout 2020 and will increase to $10.34 on January 1, 2021. Notably, Alaska does not allow a tip credit against the state’s minimum wage.
What is the maximum a 17 year old can work?
By law, workers aged 16 or 17 must not work more than 8 hours a day and 40 hours a week. They must also have, as a minimum: a 30-minute break if their working day is longer than 4.5 hours.
Can minors do overtime?
As for 14- and 15-year-olds, they can legally work up to 8 hours per day (and 40 hours per week) whenever school is not in session. … Finally, minors who are 16- or 17-years-old may work any amount of hours without following the limits applicable to 14- and 15-year-olds. This means they can work overtime hours.
Can a 14 year old be on payroll?
The Fair Labor Standards Act prohibits employers from employing oppressive child labor. 29 US Code 212(c) It allows employers to employ minors who are 14 and 15 years old for certain jobs or occupations that are deemed by the US Department of Labor not to be oppressive labor.
Does Alaska pay you to live there?
Look no further than the state of Alaska, which pays its residents over $1,000 every year just for living there. Permanent residents who opt into the state’s Permanent Fund Dividend Division can receive yearly checks of up to $1,100 a year, according to its website.
Can you live in Alaska for free?
While it’s a common misconception that you can move there for free, you can get paid to live in Alaska. The Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD) takes the state’s oil wealth and shares an annual portion with all permanent residents (both children and adults).
What is the cheapest way to move to Alaska?
U-Pack is one of the fastest, easiest and most affordable ways to move to Alaska. Many find it a great value because the price includes moving equipment, fuel, transportation, and liability coverage.
How old do you have to be to work at McDonald’s in Alaska?
You must be 14 years of age or older to work as a Crew Member at McDonald’s.