Do nurse licenses expire?
Generally, nursing licenses are valid for two years. If your license is inactive or expired, you must contact the state board of nursing to renew it. Depending on the rules of your state, you may need to pay a renewal fee, take refresher courses or complete a board-approved reentry program.
When can I renew my Alaska RN license?
You must renew your license on or before the expiration date to continue practice in Alaska. There is no grace period to practice on a lapsed license. Renewal reminders will be mailed at least 60 days before the expiration date to the last address you provided to the board.
How do I renew my nursing license in Alaska?
The MY LICENSE online renewal application is available at http://www.nursing.alaska.gov/. In most cases, your license will be renewed immediately. If you choose to renew by paper application, make sure that your application is complete, including signature, date, and all boxes appropriately checked.
How much is an Alaska nursing license?
Registered Nurse (RN) in Alaska
$100 Non-Refundable Application Fee. $200 Licensing. $100 Temporary Permit Fee [if requested] $75 Fingerprint Processing Fee.
Do you need fingerprints to renew RN?
Yes. Once you have submitted your renewal, appropriate fee, fingerprints (if required), answered the fingerprint compliance question and provided any other information required for renewal, and once the board receives fingerprint results from the DOJ your license will be renewed.
Is Alaska part of the nursing compact?
The Alaska Board of Nursing licenses LPNs and RNs. … Alaska is not a nurse compact state. Wherever else a nurse may be licensed, that nurse still needs an Alaska nursing license to practice within the state.
How early can you renew your nursing license?
An RN’s license cannot be renewed earlier than three (3) months prior to the expiration date.
What is an emergency courtesy license Alaska?
Section 12 AAC 44.318 – Emergency Courtesy License (a) In an urgent situation, the board will issue an emergency courtesy license to practice nursing to an applicant who meets the requirements of this section. The board may restrict the license to only those nursing services required to respond to the urgent situation.
Who regulates nursing profession licensing?
State Boards of Nursing are legislatively given the authority to license and discipline the nursing profession. The RN is responsible for the care given to assigned patients. Issues of staffing, delegation, and reporting of incompetent or impaired nurses are a concern of nurses today with regard to their license.
Can NPS practice independently in Alaska?
Alaska’s Nurse Practitioner Supervision Laws
Currently, nurse practitioners working in Alaska enjoy the freedom to practice independently, free of physician supervision. Physician involvement is not necessary for diagnosing, treating, or prescribing for patients in any way.
How many times can you take the Nclex in Alaska?
Though the vast majority of candidates pass the exam the first time, those who fail are permitted to retake it after 45 days from their original test date. Candidates may retest as many as 8 times in a year.
Does Alaska need nurses?
There’s Always a Need for Nurses in AK
But it also means that you’ll have more opportunity to live and work where you want within the state. You can stay where you are and be a member of a healthcare team for years to come or bring your skillset to another city.