How do I become a wedding officiant in Alaska?
Officiants: A minister, priest, recognized leader, or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state, a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army, marriage commissioner, or a judicial officer of the state. Additionally, Alaska allows a friend or relative to perform your marriage ceremony.
Can you get married in Alaska without being a resident?
State of Alaska marriage license fee is $60 and valid for 90 days. Minimum legal age to marry is 18. No residency or blood test.
How do I get a marriage commissioner appointment in Alaska?
The cost to appoint a marriage commissioner is $25.00. To apply for one, contact this court. The request for appointment as marriage commissioner must be made in person by the person wishing to be appointed. Alaska residence is not required.
Can you self solemnize in Alaska?
Can we conduct our own ceremony? You may not self-solemnize your marriage. A third-party must officiate.
Can anyone marry you in Alaska?
Under Alaska state law, your minister, rabbi, elder or other religious leader (including a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army) is empowered to solemnize your union, but anyone 18 or older can perform a legal marriage as long as they have first obtained a marriage commissioner appointment from the state.
Can you get a marriage license online in Alaska?
Can you apply for a marriage license online in Alaska? Yes! But once you’re done with the online portion of the application, you’ll still have to go in person and be sworn in by a Licensing Officer or Notary at the Juneau or Anchorage Vital Records Office, or an Alaska Courthouse if outside of Juneau or Anchorage.
What documents do I need to get married in Alaska?
Application Requirements are as follows: o Both parties must present Government-issued photo ID (such as a driver’s license, state-issued ID, passport, military ID, or Tribal/BIA card). Anchorage Vital Records Office, or an Alaska Courthouse if outside of Juneau or Anchorage.
How do I change my name after marriage in Alaska?
Bring the following IN-PERSON to your local AK DMV:
- Completed Form 478;
- Valid name change document (e.g., Alaska marriage certificate, Alaska divorce decree, or Alaska state court order);
- $15 fee; and.
- be prepared to pass a vision test.
Are marriage records public in Alaska?
Are Alaska Marriage Records Public Information? The majority of Marriage Records are open to the public. Residents of Alaska have unrestricted access to marriage records that are 50 years or older.
Can someone at the courthouse marry you?
Courthouse weddings go by a few names, including a “civil wedding” or “civil ceremony.” A civil wedding is a nonreligious, legally recognized marriage ceremony that’s performed by certain government officials or other authorized persons.
How do I request a marriage certificate?
Married in the U.S.: How to Get a Certified Copy of a Marriage Certificate. Contact the state vital records office. They may direct you to the clerk of the city or county where the license was issued or to another local office.
Who can notarize my marriage license?
Notarizing Signatures on Marriage Certificates
Individuals getting married are asked to sign a marriage certificate, a document that evidences their legal union. Notaries can notarize the signatures of the spouses on the certificate.
How long does it take to get a death certificate in Alaska?
On average, getting a death certificate issued by the state has been taking eight weeks or more, said Brian Lervold, an Anchorage funeral director. The usual timeline would be closer to 7-10 days — with most of that time spent waiting for a doctor to sign off, Lervold said.
How do I apply for a marriage license online?
Couples applying for a marriage license ONLINE must:
- Fill out the Clerk’s Online Marriage Application.
- Appear together at one of the Clerk’s six Vital Records locations.
- Inform the clerk that you filled out your application online.
- Present valid identification with proof of age.
- Sign the marriage license application.